Geology and Land art in the Bès valley.

With Luc Richard

Dates to be discussed

Trip description:

Day 1: We meet at 9 am in Digne, in front of the Gassendi Museum. We hike from the clue of Pérouré (Bès valley, 15 minutes by car from Digne). We climb to the Sanctuary of Roche Rousse, work of herman de vries along the path. We picnic next to the Saint John Chapel (Orthodox Hermitage). We pass at the foot of the "Lame de Facibelle" (impressive rock blade). We then arrive at the suspended bridge crossing the Bès river. Positive elevation gain: about 500 meters. 5 hours of walking. Transfer and overnight at the "Gîte de Flagustelle" in Verdaches.
This first day we will walk on the right bank of the Bès river. We will discover the amazing works of herman de vries in the heart of nature. We will pass at the foot of the dizzying blade of Facibelle. In the evening we will sleep at the "Gîte de Flagustelle" in Verdaches. The accommodation is rustic: dormitory in bunk beds (comfortable). But you will enjoy a warm welcome and the cuisine, based on local products, is really excellent.
Day 2: Breakfast at the cottage and transfer to the start of the path that goes to the abandoned village of the "Vieil Esclangon". On the way we will stop at Barles' clues (canyon) and Andy Goldsworthy's "sentinelle" (egg-shaped construction). Once arrived in "Le Vieil Esclangon", we will visit the "Refuge d'art" restored by Andy Goldsworthy. We will search for "traces", works of art engraved on the rocks by herman de vries in the ruins of the village. Picnic. Then we will climb to the top of the overhang overlooking the village. There, a magnificent view of the "vélodrôme", an exceptional geological site, will allow us to make a geological reading of the landscape. Afternoon: descent to the new village of Esclangon. If conditions permit, on the way, we will make a return trip to another of Andy Goldsworthy's Refuges d'art "Le Col de l'Escuichière". We end the trip with a visit to the Gassendi Museum in the afternoon of the second day.


Price: 6 participants: 150 € / person. From 8 participants: 120 € / person.
The price includes: The service of the mountain guide, the half board accommodation (wine and coffee / herbal tea included), the picnics on Saturday and Sunday, the visit to the Gassendi museum.
Price does not include: Drinks other than those included. Transportation to and from Digne.


Necessary equipment: Suitable mountain hiking shoes, gourd or bottles (1,5 to 2 liters of water per person), sun protection (hat, glasses, sunscreen), rainwear, spoon and tupperware for the picnics, spare clothes for Sunday. Fitted sheet and bath towel for the cottage.

This itinerary is given as an indication. It can be modified due to climatic hazards, unforeseen events. The organizer, Luc Richard, can therefore in case of necessity and up to the last moment modify the route above. Walking times are also indicative and depend on the level of participants, the weather, technical contingencies. They may be shorter or longer than indicated.

Information and registration: Contact Luc Richard

Séjour Géologie et art en nature dans la vallée du Bès

Avec Luc Richard

27-28 avril 2019 et 22-23 juin 2019.


Descriptif du séjour:

Jour 1 : Rendez-vous à 9h à Digne devant le Musée Gassendi. Randonnée au départ de la clue du Pérouré (vallée du Bès, 15 mn en voiture de Digne). Montée vers le Sanctuaire de Roche Rousse, œuvre de herman de vries. Pique-nique à côté de la chapelle Saint Jean (Hermitage ortodoxe). Descente en passant au pied de la lame de Facibelle. Arrivée à la passerelle du Bès. Dénivelé positif : environ 500 mètres. 5 heures de marche. Transfert et nuit au gîte de Flagustelle à Verdaches.
Cette première journée nous marcherons en rive droite du Bès. Nous découvrirons les œuvres étonnantes d'herman de vries en pleine nature. Nous passerons au pied de la vertigineuse lame de Facibelle. Le soir, nous irons dormir au Gîte de Flagustelle à Verdaches. L'hébergement est rustique : dortoir en lit superposés (confortables). Mais l'accueil est très chaleureux et la cuisine, familiale et à base de produits locaux, est vraiment excellente.
Jour 2 : Petit déjeuner au gîte puis transfert jusqu'au départ du chemin qui monte au village abandonné du Vieil Esclangon. En route, nous nous arrêterons aux clues de Barles et à la sentinelle d'Andy Goldsworthy. Là, nous visiterons le refuge d'art restauré par Andy Goldsworthy. Nous chercherons les « traces », œuvres d'art gravés sur les rochers par herman de vries dans les ruines du village. Pique-nique. Puis nous monterons au sommet du surplomb qui domine le village. Là, une vue magnifique sur le « vélodrôme » site géologique exceptionnel, nous permettra de faire une lecture géologique du paysage. Après-midi : descente vers le nouveau village d'Esclangon. Si les conditions le permettent, sur le trajet, nous ferons un allez-retour au Refuge d'art du col de l'Escuichière. Nous terminons le séjour par une visite au musée Gassendi dans l'après-midi du deuxième jour.


Tarif : 6 participants : 150 € / personne. A partir de 8 participants : 120 € / personne
Le tarif comprend : La prestation de l'accompagnateur en moyenne montagne, le gîte en demi-pension (vin et café / tisane compris), les pique-niques du samedi et du dimanche, la visite au musée Gassendi.
Le tarif ne comprend pas : Les boissons autres que celles qui sont comprises. Les trajets.


Matériel à prévoir : Chaussures adaptées à la randonnée en montagne, gourde ou bouteilles (1,5 à 2 litres d'eau par personne), protection soleil (chapeau, lunettes, crème solaire), vêtement de pluie, cuillère et tupperware pour le pique nique, vêtements de rechange pour le dimanche. Drap housse et serviette de bain pour le gîte.

Cet itinéraire est donné à titre indicatif. Il peut être modifié en raison des aléas climatiques, des imprévus. L'organisateur, Luc Richard, peut donc en cas de nécessité et jusqu'au dernier moment modifier le trajet ci-dessus. Les temps de marche sont aussi indicatifs et dépendent du niveau des participants, de la météo, d'imprévus techniques. Ils peuvent être plus courts ou plus long que ce qui est indiqué.

Renseignements et inscriptions: Contactez Luc Richard